A Powerful Witness

Divrei Shalom

elie-wiesel1The tributes for the late Elie Wiesel have been coming fast and furiously.  I am not surprised in the least.  His imprint on so many is immeasurable, and I am no different.

I am pretty certain that my first “encounter” was, as it was for so many, through reading his haunting memoir Night as a teenager.  The book was an awakening, and it led to a period in which my thirst for learning about the Shoah/Holocaust was hard to quench.

In my last semester of senior year in college, as I was already preparing to begin my rabbinic studies, I took a course in post-Holocaust literature and theology. Our professor had us read nearly everything Elie Wiesel had written at the time (1973), along with the writings of a number of Jewish and Christian theologians. It was a heavy-duty course, both in terms of the work-load and the subject…

View original post 604 more words

Leave a Reply

