On Our Bookshelves (or Kindles)…

All three of us Temple Shalom rabbis love to read! Here are our picks for this month:

Post below and tell us what you are reading – we could always use some good ideas!

Rabbi Gurvis:

I am reading (only 3??? Are you kidding?)

1. My fun reading — The Litigators by John Grisham (just finished Portrait of a Spy by Daniel Silva)

2. Integrity: The Courage to Meet the Demands of Reality by Dr. Henry Cloud (one of the presenters at the Willow Creek Global Leadership Conference this summer with whom I am also taking an online course,)

3. We Are All Weird by Seth Godin (also a Willow Creek presenter)

4. And on my Kindle, Rabbi Jonathan Sacks, A Letter in the Scrol

But I recommend everyone go to the New England Mobile Book Fair to buy books (or your local bookseller. It’s not that I don’t order online.  I do, but I prefer to be surrounded by the books).

Rabbi Hirsch:

Here’s what’s on my nightstand/kindle right now:

1. (The Jewish book on my nightstand) Margie Klein & Or Rose, Righteous Indignation: A Jewish Call for Justice

http://www.amazon.com/Righteous-Indignation-Jewish-Call-Justice/dp/1580234143/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1320343255&sr=1-2

2. Seth Godin, We are all Weird

http://www.amazon.com/Are-All-Weird-SethGodin/dp/1936719223/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1320343374&sr=1-1

Rabbi Berry:

1. Same as Rabbi Gurvis – I just finished The Litigators by John Grisham. Not his best work – but fun

2. For my American Jewish Short Story class – The Shawl and Rosa – short stories by Cynthia Ozick. Incredibly powerful – The Shawl has been haunting me for weeks.

http://www.amazon.com/ShawlCynthiaOzick/dp/0679729267/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=digitaltext&ie=UTF8&qid=1320357414&sr=1-1-catcorr

3. (This one I’m embarrassed to admit) Toddler 411-Clear Answers and Smart Advice for Your Toddler by Dr. Ari Brown and Denise Fields. We all need a little help potty-training our two year olds…

http://www.amazon.com/Toddler411AnswersAdviceebook/dp/B0041OTB60/ref=sr_1_1?s=digitaltext&ie=UTF8&qid=1320357364&sr=1-1

4. My new favorite book – film is coming out soon – The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. 

http://www.amazon.com/TheHungerGamesebook/dp/B002MQYOFW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digitaltext&ie=UTF8&qid=1320357312&sr=1-1

 

 

2 thoughts on “On Our Bookshelves (or Kindles)…

  1. Eric Gurvis says:

    I forgot – and I’m listening to David McCollough’s The Greater Journey:Americans in Paris. Great!

  2. Rabbi Eric Gurvis says:

    Done with Grisham — now working on Stephen King’s new opus 11/22/63

Leave a Reply

