L’cha Dodi – Hitting the right notes?

Finally, sacred music meets hip-hop! Last week, I found out about a new album that Shemspeed, an independent record label, had put out. I’m obsessed. The album has been my running mix this week. There are remixes from hip-hop artists and musicians from all around, blending music from the Israeli scene with other stuff from the pop realm.

I am far from an expert on music; I just know what I like.

This is what I’m wondering: Take Benyamin Brody’s singing of L’cha Dodi. With the poetry of L’cha Dodi, we welcome in our Shabbat as if it were our bride. Akon’s Right Now on the other hand is all about unrequited love. If we are going to go and mash-up our liturgy with new tunes, do the messages of the original piece need to match the messages of the liturgy?

Leave a Reply

